Fireflies vs Otter: minutes, storage and price per seat
Otter Pro is $8.33 a month billed annually with 1,200 transcription minutes. Fireflies Pro is $10 with unlimited transcription and 8,000 minutes of storage. Free plans, caps and prices from each vendor's pricing page.
The short answer
Otter limits how many minutes you transcribe. Fireflies limits how many minutes you keep. Otter Pro includes 1,200 transcription minutes a month per user and 90 minutes per conversation. Fireflies Pro lists unlimited transcription with 8,000 minutes of storage per seat and a 2-hour recording limit.
Billed annually, Otter Pro is $8.33 per user per month and Fireflies Pro is $10 per seat per month. Billed monthly, Otter Pro is $16.99 and Fireflies Pro is $18.
If your meetings stay under 1,200 minutes a month per person, Otter Pro costs less. If you record more than that, or long meetings, Fireflies Pro removes the transcription cap.
Prices were read in a browser on each vendor's pricing page on September 23, 2026. Both show US dollars. StackOnSale has not tested either product.
How each one limits you
Otter counts transcription minutes. Its comparison table gives 300 minutes a month on Basic, the free plan, and 1,200 minutes a month per user on Pro, with no rollover. It also caps a single conversation at 30 minutes on Basic, 90 minutes on Pro and 4 hours on Business.
Fireflies counts storage. Its free plan keeps 400 minutes for the whole team, Pro keeps 8,000 minutes per seat, and Business and Enterprise have unlimited storage. Its recording limit is 2 hours on Free and Pro, 3 hours on Business and 4 hours on Enterprise.
The free plans
Otter Basic: 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 audio or video file imports for the lifetime of the account, and only the 25 most recent conversations in your history.
Fireflies Free: listed as "Free forever" with "Unlimited transcription*", limited AI summaries, 400 minutes of storage per team and 20 AI credits. Its own comparison table marks Free transcripts as "Limited", and the page we read does not explain the asterisk.
Prices side by side
Both vendors price per person. Otter shows its monthly Business price as $30 struck through at $24, labelled "20% off for 3 months", an offer its page limits to first-time subscribers.
Price per person per month| Plan | Fireflies, billed monthly | Fireflies, billed annually | Otter, billed monthly | Otter, billed annually |
|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
|---|
| Pro | $18 | $10 | $16.99 | $8.33 |
|---|
| Business | $29 | $19 | $30, or $24 for 3 months for first-time subscribers | $19.99 |
|---|
| Enterprise | Annual only | $39 | Schedule a demo | Schedule a demo |
|---|
Read in a browser on fireflies.ai/pricing and otter.ai/pricing (Monthly and Annual options), September 23, 2026. Prices in US dollars.
The limits that decide the plan| Limit | Fireflies Free | Fireflies Pro | Otter Basic | Otter Pro |
|---|
| Transcription | "Limited" in the comparison table | Unlimited | 300 minutes a month | 1,200 minutes a month per user |
|---|
| Longest meeting | 2-hour recording limit | 2-hour recording limit | 30 minutes per conversation | 90 minutes per conversation |
|---|
| What you keep | 400 minutes of storage per team | 8,000 minutes of storage per seat | 25 most recent conversations | Unlimited history |
|---|
| File imports | Upload and transcribe files, limit not stated | Upload and transcribe files, limit not stated | 3 for the lifetime of the account | 10 a month |
|---|
| AI allowance | 20 AI credits | 20 AI credits | 20 AI Chat queries a month | 50 AI Chat queries a month |
|---|
From each vendor's plan cards and comparison table, read September 23, 2026.
When Otter wins
Each person transcribes less than 1,200 minutes a month. Otter Pro is $1.67 a month cheaper per person than Fireflies Pro, billed annually.
You are a student or a teacher. Otter gives 20% off Pro to individual users with an address ending in .edu: $6.67 a month billed $79.99 a year, or $13.59 a month. We did not find a student price on Fireflies' pricing page.
When Fireflies wins
You record long or frequent meetings. Fireflies Pro has no transcription cap, where Otter Pro stops at 1,200 minutes a month and 90 minutes per conversation.
You want to keep an archive without a monthly minutes count. Fireflies Pro keeps 8,000 minutes per seat, and Business keeps unlimited storage at $19 per seat per month billed annually, against $19.99 for Otter Business.
What we could not verify
What the asterisk on Fireflies' free "Unlimited transcription" refers to. Otter's exact annual invoice: it shows $8.33 a month for Pro, and its student FAQ implies $99.99 a year before the discount, which we did not see stated. Whether either annual price holds at renewal. How each vendor counts AI credits or AI Chat queries in practice.
StackOnSale earns a commission if you buy Fireflies through our link. We have no affiliate relationship with Otter.
Questions
Which is cheaper, Fireflies or Otter?
Billed annually, Otter Pro is $8.33 per user per month and Fireflies Pro is $10 per seat. Billed monthly, $16.99 against $18. Otter Pro caps transcription at 1,200 minutes a month per user; Fireflies Pro does not. Read September 23, 2026.
How many free minutes does Otter give?
300 transcription minutes a month on Basic, with a 30-minute limit per conversation and 3 file imports for the lifetime of the account.
What does Fireflies' free plan limit?
Storage: 400 minutes for the whole team. It also has limited AI summaries and 20 AI credits, and its comparison table marks free transcripts as limited.
Is there a student discount?
Otter gives 20% off Pro to students and teachers with an .edu address: $6.67 a month billed $79.99 a year, or $13.59 a month. We did not find one on Fireflies' pricing page.
How long can one meeting be?
Fireflies: 2 hours on Free and Pro, 3 on Business, 4 on Enterprise. Otter: 30 minutes on Basic, 90 minutes on Pro, 4 hours on Business.
Related offers
Sources
Search, saved offers and price alerts need JavaScript.