Otter alternatives: Fireflies and Fathom priced against Otter
Fireflies and Fathom against Otter, from each vendor's pricing page: free plan limits, prices per person billed monthly and annually, and which limit decides the plan. Read September 23, 2026.
The short answer
Fireflies and Fathom are the two Otter alternatives we priced. All three charge per person. Otter limits transcription minutes: 300 a month on its free Basic plan and 1,200 a month per user on Pro. Fireflies limits storage instead: Pro transcribes without a cap and keeps 8,000 minutes per seat. Fathom's free plan card lists unlimited recordings and transcriptions.
Billed annually, Otter Pro is $8.33 per user a month, Fireflies Pro $10 and Fathom Premium $16. Billed monthly, they are $16.99, $18 and $20.
Prices were read in a browser on otter.ai/pricing, fireflies.ai/pricing and fathom.ai/pricing on September 23, 2026, in US dollars. StackOnSale has not tested these products.
The free plans
Each free plan stops at a different limit: minutes transcribed on Otter, minutes stored on Fireflies. Fathom's plan card states no limit on recordings or transcriptions.
What each free plan includes| Limit | Otter Basic | Fireflies Free | Fathom Free |
|---|
| Transcription | 300 minutes a month | "Limited" in the comparison table | Unlimited, per the plan card |
|---|
| Longest meeting | 30 minutes per conversation | 2-hour recording limit | Not stated on the plan card |
|---|
| What you keep | 25 most recent conversations | 400 minutes of storage per team | Not stated on the plan card |
|---|
| AI allowance | 20 AI Chat queries a month | 20 AI credits, limited AI summaries | Instant AI call summaries |
|---|
From each vendor's plan cards and comparison table, read September 23, 2026.
Paid plans, per person
All three sell a plan for one person and plans for teams. Fathom's Team and Business plans require at least 2 users.
Price per person per month| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually |
|---|
| Otter Pro | $16.99 | $8.33 |
|---|
| Otter Business | $30, or $24 for 3 months for first-time subscribers | $19.99 |
|---|
| Fireflies Pro | $18 | $10 |
|---|
| Fireflies Business | $29 | $19 |
|---|
| Fathom Premium | $20 | $16 |
|---|
| Fathom Team, 2-user minimum | $19 | $15 |
|---|
| Fathom Business, 2-user minimum | $34 | $25 |
|---|
Read in a browser on otter.ai/pricing, fireflies.ai/pricing and fathom.ai/pricing, September 23, 2026. Prices in US dollars.
Which one fits which buyer
Otter: the lowest paid price per person of the three, billed annually, if each person transcribes under 1,200 minutes a month and meetings stay under 90 minutes.
Fireflies: no transcription cap on Pro and 8,000 minutes of storage per seat, then unlimited storage on Business at $19 per seat a month billed annually.
Fathom: the widest free plan card of the three, and team plans from $15 per user a month billed annually, with a 2-user minimum.
What we could not verify
What the asterisk on Fireflies' free "Unlimited transcription" refers to. Whether Fathom's free plan limits storage, meeting length or AI summaries: its plan card states no limit. Otter's exact annual invoice. Whether any annual price holds at renewal.
StackOnSale earns a commission if you buy Fireflies through our link. We have no relationship with Otter or Fathom.
Questions
What is the best free Otter alternative?
On the plan cards we read, Fathom's free plan lists unlimited recordings and transcriptions. Fireflies Free keeps 400 minutes of storage per team. Otter Basic transcribes 300 minutes a month. Read September 23, 2026.
Is Fireflies cheaper than Otter?
Not per seat: billed annually, Otter Pro is $8.33 a month and Fireflies Pro is $10. Fireflies Pro has no transcription cap, where Otter Pro stops at 1,200 minutes a month.
Is Fathom cheaper than Otter?
Its paid plans cost more per person: Fathom Premium is $16 a month billed annually, against $8.33 for Otter Pro. Its free plan card lists unlimited recordings and transcriptions.
Related offers
Sources
Search, saved offers and price alerts need JavaScript.